Athelstone

Athelstone

      Home Guernsey
Athelstone Home 2014
     Clash Guernsey
Athelstone Clash 2014
Mascot/Nickname: Raggies
Grades: D3, D3R, C1
Established: 1904
Joined SAAFL: 1996
Former Name(s):
Premierships: 1959, 1960, 1963, 1965, 1966, 1970, 1971, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1995, 1996 (D2)
Phone: 8336 2622
President: Stephen Young – 0409 696 981
Senior Coach: Jade Sheedy – 0419 513 393
Football Director: Stephen Brown – 0408 232 081
Delegate: Stephen Brown – 0408 232 081
Secretary: Graham Rosewarne – 0418 836 497
Website: Click here
facebook

Club History

 

Athelstone is a proud and strong football club nestled in the eastern Torrens Valley. Formed in the early 1900s, the players mostly comprised local market gardeners who wore hessian sacks for jumpers, hence they became known as the ‘Raggies’. Athelstone has played in a number of different leagues and joined the SAAFL after the dissolution of SAFA in 1995.

The Club was formed in 1904, and legend has it that the first uniforms consisted of sugar bags for jumpers, old working trousers ripped off at the knees for shorts, and hob-nail working boots – hence the ‘Raggies’ nickname. Social matches were played until the club joined the East Torrens Association in 1914. During and after the War it went into recess at various times and when not in recess moved between associations, until 1936 when it joined the East Torrens Association. It remained with East Torrens for 31 years until that association merged with the North Adelaide Association in 1969 to form Norwood North. The club became an inaugural member of the SAFA in 1978 and then joined the SAAFL in 1996 when the SAFA folded, enjoying an ‘A’ grade premiership in Division 2. The record holder for games played is Graham Rosewarne with 438 games, and he also kicked 2054 goals for the Club.

Source:
A History of the South Australian Amateur Football League 1911-1994, Fred Bloch © 1995

 

 

Thanks To Our Major Sponsors