Jason Mounce wins the 2017 Casey Cooper Medal

On Saturday night Jason Mounce capped off another stellar season with the whistle when he was awarded the Casey Cooper Medal for being rated Adelaide Footy League’s number one field umpire in Season 2017. At a well-attended function for umpires and partners at the Adelaide Hilton, Mounce collected his third Casey Cooper Medal after recently being appointed to his fifth Division 1 Grand Final. In his acceptance speech, he thanked his wife Tracey and 2 daughters, umpires coaches and fellow umpires for their support throughout the year.

Adelaide Footy Umpiring Manager Colin Rowston stated that picking the winner for this year’s award was not difficult. “Jason has had an outstanding season, clearly being rated our number one umpire. He maintained the high standard we are used to seeing from him right throughout 2017. In the last few years, he has clearly established himself as one of the best field umpires this League has ever had.”

Several other awards were presented on the night, with other field umpires Cameron Scott (Best First Year), Marek Carls (Most Improved) and Jerry Smith (Encouragement Award) being recognised for their efforts. Winners of the boundary umpire awards were Nicholas Dawes (Best First Year), Jaii Francis (Most Improved) and Tristian Rogers (Best Boundary Umpire), while the goal umpire awards were taken out by Andrew Sumner (Best First Year), Nicole Tainsh (Most Improved) and Christopher Adey (Best Goal Umpire).

400 game veteran Stevan Pryor was named the winner of 2017 Rex Lambert Award in recognition for his commitment to training and games as well as his dedication to the Umpires Association.

For more details and photos from the Presentation Dinner, go to www.adelaidefooty.com.au/umpiring



Thanks To Our Major Sponsors