SAAFL History – 1914

History Home

Semaphore Central16151030
Prince Alfred College16511010
St. Francis Xavier1631217
St. Peters College1621404
St. Bartholomew1611413


Despite finishing fourth the previous season, inaugural member Marlborough could not form a team, possibly because of the approaching war, and so it was decided to replace them with Kenilworth, a well-established club from the United Church Association and premiers in 1913, who had applied to the SAAFL in the previous year. This retained the 9-team competition.

Semaphore Central prepared for the season by playing a trial against Port Adelaide, and finished the minor round at the head of the table for the second season in a row.

Both Semi Finals were close affairs. Semaphore defeated Kingswood at Unley Oval 7.9 to 7.4, and University beat Kenilworth at Hindmarsh Oval 5.13 to 4.16. The Final was played at Norwood Oval under umpire B.T.R. Bailey, and Semaphore beat University 6.12 to 4.11 to win its first SAAFL premiership.

On October 10th Semaphore Central played Port Adelaide, the premiers of the SAFL, and acquitted itself admirably in scoring 8.4 to Port Adelaide’s 9.17.

History Home

Thanks To Our Major Sponsors