Team Gms W L D Pts
University 12 10 2 0 20
Kingswood 11 9 2 0 18
St. Francis Xavier 11 8 3 0 16
Semaphore Central 11 6 4 1 13
Prince Alfred College 12 5 6 1 11
Glenferrie 11 3 8 0 6
Kenilworth 11 2 9 0 4
St. Peter’s College 11 1 10 0 2


With the First World War well under way, military training necessitated the curtailment of many sports, although the SAAFL continued to function. Inaugural member St. Bartholomew went into recess and didn’t reappear until 1924 in the United Church Association, and no new clubs were admitted thus reducing the number of teams from 9 to 8.

For the first time it was suggested that players wear numbers on their guernseys so the spectators could more easily identify who was doing what to whom, but the recommendation was not taken up until 1924.

With increasing concern over the state of the War, it was decided to start the finals when only two teams (University and Prince Alfred College) had completed all their minor round matches.

University had the most points but Kingswood had played one less game, and so it was decided on a 7-2 vote that as Kingswood had a much better percentage than University, despite winning one less game, it would be awarded the minor premiership. Kingswood then defeated St. Francis in the Semi Final 11.11 to 6.9, while Semaphore beat University 7.10 to 5.7. In the Final, Kingswood defeated Semaphore Central 8.11 to 5.11 for its second SAAFL premiership.

The first reference found to the Naylor Medal (named after Professor Darnley Naylor, the SAAFL President) for the best player in SAAFL, is in 1915 when it was awarded to University’s C.E. (‘Nip’) Pellew of test cricket fame.

History Home