The All-Australian Amateurs competed for the first time in the National Football Council’s carnival in Brisbane, winning the second division. The man who had done more than most to develop interstate football between the amateurs, Hugh Millard, retired as Secretary of the Amateur League after serving an incredible 33 years in the position.

A Colts division was introduced as were player life memberships and the Page system of finals. Player registrations topped the two thousand mark for the first time, and central umpires received £4 a match.