1960 was the 50th year of the Amateur League and this jubilee was celebrated with a social evening in the Windsor Ballroom on North Terrace. With 28 clubs the League was well and truly established and about to undergo further rapid growth. Furthermore, the amateurs became the first Australian Rules association in South Australia to be televised when Channel 2 televised a game each Saturday.

Another unique event in 1960 was the A4 grand final – it was played three times because the first two attempts both resulted in draws.

Amateur League House in Tynte Street was acquired in 1961, coinciding with the commencement of Alan Statton as administrator and Frank ‘Sandy’ Cockburn as state trainer. Both these men were to give outstanding service to the Amateur League. Reserve grades were introduced in 1962 and total registrations exceeded 3000. In 1967 Keith Sims began his record-breaking term as President, while in 1968, John Welford won his third A1 medal (a record) on his way to 9 years of state football (another record). 1968 also saw 7 new clubs enter the Amateur League, partly as a result of the demise of the Adelaide Metropolitan League, and by the end of the decade the amateurs boasted 42 clubs, an increase of over a third since the ’50s.