State Game Umpires for Saturday

The honour of playing in representative footy is often mentioned by players who are picked for their state team but it is a similar feeling for umpires who are chosen to officiate in these games. This weekend sees the Adelaide Footy League host two state games at ALDI Arena for the best men and women players at local level in South Australia and Victoria, with umpires from both Leagues having been chosen to also take to the field.

49 year old Tony Symons and 45 year old Jason Mounce last umpired together in the 2017 Adelaide Footy Division 1 Grand Final. The experienced pair have been involved in eight Division 1 Grand Finals and two State Games throughout the years and are both looking forward to this Saturday when they will umpire the men’s State Game from 3pm. Jason states “I have some good memories of umpiring at Thebarton Oval (ALDI Arena), so always look forward to umpiring there. This will be extra special, being involved in the State Game and seeing some of the best footballers in the competition play in what should be a fast and skilful game.” Meanwhile, Tony says he wants “A close game and a few beers and chat to players and officials after the game.”

Joining Jason and Tony will be top Victorian field umpire Matt Oakley, who has umpired the previous three VAFA Premier Grand Finals and who has 100 VFL Senior Matches to his credit. As the games are to be played in South Australia, field umpires will adopt the rules and interpretations used in the Adelaide Footy League which were outlined in an interpretations video released at the start of the 2018 season (

The women’s State Game, starting at 1.10pm, will see one field umpire from each state take control of the game. 59 year old Mark Goodes, who umpired the 2017 Adelaide Footy Division 1 Women’s Grand Final, will join young Victorian umpire Oli Murray who is currently a VFL Rookie after being chosen to umpire the 2017 Under 19 VAFA Premier Grand Final.

A combination of South Australian and Victorian boundary and goal umpires will join the field umpires for both games, with all umpires to wear the Adelaide Footy umpiring uniforms for the day. The full list of umpires chosen for both games is:
SA vs Vic Women’s State Game
Field – Mark Goodes (SA), Oli Murray (Vic)
Boundary – Tyson Smith (SA), Shaun Burke (Vic)
Goal – Lisa Cotgrove (SA), Jasmina Lieu (Vic)
SA vs Vic Men’s State Game
Field – Jason Mounce (SA), Tony Symons (SA), Matt Oakley (Vic)
Boundary – Matthew Higgins (SA), Tristan Rogers (SA), Peter McMullen (SA), Nick Weidmann (Vic)
Goal – Chris Adey (SA), Tom Moloney (Vic)

Thanks To Our Major Sponsors